Hello world!


I am new to the blogging world.  I have started late in my life doing what (or so it seems to me) what everyone else has been doing for years.  I am changing that as of today!  Today I start a new chapter in the Life and Times of Jessica Graefe Martinez.  It is rather interesting to start something new…a little scary and a little thrilling at the same time.  Learning is important to me and passing on my knowledge that I glean from others or just through the School of Hard Knocks is imperative as I also home school my two children.  I have to learn all the latest technology, ideas and trends if I hope to be able to keep up with them.

I am not new to the internet though.  I have been using computers since the late 80’s and have been puttering on the internet as soon as I could afford my first AOL account.  Then I learned the art of getting online for free (still through dial-up) and then I moved to Boston for my Master’s degree and found the bliss that is “high-speed internet”.  I have never gone back.  My house is set up for wireless and I have been able to get my kids their own laptops.  It is shocking how much we rely on them, but for my kids, they know nothing else.  They were amazed that we used to look up words in a book called a dictionary.  My oldest just said to me, “Well no wonder people have to wear glasses, the print is so small and you cannot even enlarge the font!”  Was the word “font” around when I was a kids?  I don’t think so.

So, in an effort to learn more about the latest ways to enhance my Wuffie Factor (see Tara Hunt’s book titled The wuffie factor: using the power of social networks to build your business) I am going to try to do a blog and see if I am able to share information, answer questions and build myself a good network of people who I can interact with on a business and personal level.  Anyone that has comments, questions or requests, please feel free to let me know. In the meantime, I am going to go teach 2nd grade math to my oldest.

3 responses to “Hello world!

  1. Hey Congratz!! You did it! let me know how it goes… love u!!! moi!

  2. Roger D. Parish

    “god network”? Interesting typo. 😉

Leave a Reply

