Social Media: Another excuse not to work out


I have been working diligently on my Mom’s new company, attempting to get the word out about her work and what she does.  (@AlterationQueen on Twitter and Nonie’s Altered Edge on Facebook.)It is not an quick process, as establishing a reputation is not something that can be done overnight.  This means I am online, working with my computer–mainly social networking sites.  I spend quite a large amount of time updating Facebook, posting on Twitter and the dealing with The Phone…The Phone will eventually kill me.  It never stops ringing.  Don’t get me wrong, I am not complaining that people call, it is just that as a new company, our resources are limited and having a dedicated line just for work is not quite in the budget yet.  So I answer the call and lately, there have been more calls for political surveys than work.  Frustrating to say the least.

So, as you can imagine, I sit a lot during the day.  I seriously need to move more so that I don’t become one with my chair, but it seems that my mind is the only part of me getting a serious work out while the rest of me seems to crave anything chocolate.  Finding time to work out is difficult.

Let me rephrase, finding the energy to work out is difficult.  By the time I get finished with my work, home schooling my kids and running the house, the idea of donning some comfy clothes and then get my heart racing and my body sweating is not appealing.  (In all fairness, I am always in comfy clothes, that is the one perk of working from home.)

So, my goal for the new year is to find the time to do something for Me.  The work still has to get done and the house is not going to care if I work out or not, chores will still pile up and kids will still need clean clothes, but there has to be a way for me to ensure that my behind does not end up resembling the chair I am currently sitting in.

I will explore and see what works for me, although everyone always says they will start the new year out with steel resolve to “do the right thing” and get into shape.  I will whine that I have spinal stenosis and arthritis, that my knees hurt or something of more importance has come up (and trust me, there will ALWAYS be something more important to me that working out), but I have told my kids to not let me get away with that.  They look forward to pointing out my whine sessions and telling me to suck-it-up while we work out on the Wii.  Fact is, I think they are looking a little too forward to that part of it, but in either event, I shall either get in shape, or you will recognize me by the large Lay-z-boy that follows me down the street.  I will keep you updated.

Have a Merry Christmas or a wonderful holiday for whichever one you celebrate.  I wish each and every one of you good will and good fortune in the new year.

2 responses to “Social Media: Another excuse not to work out

  1. Yay! You’re blogging again! After only, lessee, NINETEEN MONTHS! Hope you can keep it up. Just one more ball to keep in the air.

    Marry Christmas, Jess.

    • Thanks Roger, I have been working so much doing all this stuff for my Mom’s business, home schooling, getting a degree and expanding my social media consultant business that blogging has taken a back seat. But, if there is time in the day, I will make time in my schedule to write at least 1 time a month and move it up to 1 time a week. Wish me luck! Merry Christmas to you as well!!

Leave a Reply

